July 13th – Isolation official over on July 12th– Day 28

I’ve been on a plethora of medicines since I’ve been in Moscow. I’ve had no  problems with any of the medicine or testing…except the MRI bothered my lumbar spine and was easily remedied with 800 mg advil and an ice pack.

There was no problem with the neupogen shots, steroid drip, chemo, or chemo rinse. Constantly using the bathroom was an inconvenience and disturbed my sleep, but it was insignificant in the big picture.

I’ve been taking:
Flucouazole 200mg/day which is an anti fungal
Ciprofloxacin 1000 mg/day which a broad spectrum anti bacterial                                                        Bactrim 960/mg/day 3x/week which is synthetic antibacterial (used in the treatment of various bacterial infections)
Omerprazole 40mg/day    

I eat extremely healthy all day, but at night due to the steroids, I snack like I have not eaten for days!  I talk to myself occasionally (often : ) and still try to fundraise and help my family from afar.  I’ve had mostly good days.  There was one night that I was not able to  sleep well at all, which is  very unusual for me.  I finally fell asleep at 5 am, and was gently woken by nurses at 8:30 am for my morning testing.  I am always able to get back to sleep for a few hours if I need more rest. But, I was awake for the day! It was a miserable day for me.  But, it’s only happened once.  I typically don’t take naps, but I expect that will change upon my return home to begin my recuperation. I’ve been fortunate that the whole procedure has not been as difficult as it has been for others.  I’m still  expecting a longer, more arduous  recovery than most because of PPMS and my level of disability upon my arrival in Moscow.  I’ve written down every inspirational message from friends, family acquaintances and strangers.  The one that I think about most is Go! Fight! Win!  This just sums up my plans perfectly.  There is nothing more important that can be done by me to improve of the quality of my life and that of my family than to restore my daily independent functioning and to gain strength.

Today, July 12, 2014, when Dr. Fedorenko came in for his daily visit he had some delightfully surprising good news. After less than a full week in isolation, my bloodwork  showed promising results.  Although, all our medical information is in our official chart which we’ll be given a translated copy before discharge, Dr. Fedorenko always brings in a hand written copy for us to discuss.

                                      July 12, 2014 – Hemoglobin  83, Leukocytes 2.4, Platlets 199
IMG_0290

I was exercising when he came in.  Hairnet is to control ALL the strays hair that are finally coming out!  Always try to take photos by my daughter’s fish art!

DSCN3625

So, the good news was, I was no longer in isolation!  I could leave my room wearing a mask, take a walk down the hall, even visit friends on the 2nd floor : )  I did not want to go outside my first day, having fallen out of my bed the night before.  I did not get hurt, just bruised a bit. Was trying to retrieve a paper that I dropped.  Still dropping many things : (
Since the door with the ramp is closed on weekends and after 5, I did not want to take the risk of the stairs by myself just yet.  But was so delighted to see some friends I’d not seen for a week and meet some new patient arrivals!!!!!!  BEST. DAY. EVER.  maybe?

DSCN3631

I can not stress enough how much Dr. Fedorenko cares for all his patients.  He is a brilliant, caring, warm, thoughtful, loving man and hematologist who should be cloned as soon as possible. There is no personal, medical or procedural question that I have ever asked that has not been explained fully and at length to me.  He had initially asked me to write down any questions I had for him.  He did not care if they were not well worded, small or inconsequential or extremely important to me.  He answered questions that I was just curious about as well.  He always took the time to make sure I understood what I was trying to ask.  My handwriting unfortunately has gotten extremely poor during the last few months due to PPMS.  I was writing down my questions, had trouble reading my own handwriting and my responses from Dr. Fedorenko.  Light bulb finally went off and I started typing all my questions with the date above it for him.  He lets me take the time to type his answers.  I can read them now : ) He answers questions from me and from my family.   He is a gem.  It’s also really easy to make him laugh which delights me. With not much of a body that functions well, my sense of humor and being able to make people smile is pretty much all I have going for me….FOR NOW!
Still furiously fundraising, but ready to go home in ONE WEEK….
GO! FIGHT! WIN!
Thank you, Anne!  I think about you every day and how much you always inspire me.  I can’t wait to see you!
Thank you EVERYONE for your donations and support.  There is no way we could have done this on our own!  Hugs and love to all of you ❤

DSCN3632 - Version 3

17 Comments on “July 13th – Isolation official over on July 12th– Day 28”

  1. Terri Arnold says:

    I am so glad to hear you managed the treatment well and your body is rebounding! You are in my thoughts and prayers!

    Like

  2. Joan Rhoades says:

    HOW EXCITING…If you like, I will find a Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner in your area and treat you to some sessions…they are nurturing healing and may very well help you get back some things you lost…nothing in the universe is ever lost…just misplaced…so it is possible to find things we thought were gone!!!! We can talk about this when I see you…BREATHE, SMILE, LAUGH whenever possible!!!! Your strength and fortitude is admirable, Nancy. ❤

    Like

    • Joan! I remember you telling us about it! After rest and recuperation, I will need intense, core, balance and strength training! You know I love to laugh! It’s good therapy!

      Like

  3. Annie says:

    Wow Nancy! So happy for you. You did it! You are on your way to a better life.

    My quote to you:
    “IT IS BY CHOICE AND NOT BY CHANCES THAT WE CHANGE OUR CIRCUMSTANCES.”
    ― Nadia Sahari,

    Look forward to seeing you back in the USA!

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Annie! Your support and encouragement helped me so much! I am weaker than weak, but I will finally be able to actually strengthen my body and soul!
      Love the quote! Maybe I’ll see you in Bethany!!!

      Like

  4. Joyce Cooper-Kahn says:

    Wow! Look at how far you have come already–in miles and in treatment. I hope the recovery at home turns out to be easier than expected, too. But clearly you are a person who will deal with whatever comes. Sending energy, support and healing vibes your way. And now MY favorite quote: “Sometimes it’s not enough to do your best. You have to do what is required.” (Winston Churchill)
    Joyce C-K

    Like

    • Thanks, Joyce! I am expecting a long and intensive rehab. My body has been fighting itself for years! I’ll do what is required and more! But first, a month of rest and relaxation!

      Like

  5. brookeslick says:

    Simply lovely, Nancy. Bravo on your pass out of iso! You’re almost there and you look so happy. 🙂

    Like

  6. Barbara Gewirtz says:

    Mobilization ✔
    Apheresis ✔
    Chemotherapy ✔
    Stem Cell Transplant ✔
    Engraftment ✔
    Recovery or Go! Fight! Win!
    (You have it inside of you, literally and figuratively to do this!!)

    A BIG thank you to Dr F and his team and to all of your supporters far and wide! xo

    Like

  7. Eddie Nash says:

    The world is a better place because of Dr Fedorenko! You being real has been refreshing! YOU DID IT!!!!!! Now look out world here she comes!

    Like

  8. Kristen Shiveley says:

    Loved your blog, details and photos!! Can’t wait to see you in Bay Road!
    Stay strong💛 We are all proud of you!

    Like

    • So looking forward to being back on Bay Road! It won’t be long now! All the sweet kids, all the families! It’s a great place to recuperate!!! And thanks again for helping Adam!

      Like

  9. janet minton says:

    Nancy, This is a favorite quote of mine…..thanks for sharing your journey….Janet Minton

    “You’re a winner. The tests of life are not meant to break you, but to make you.”
    Norman Vincent Peale

    Like


Leave a Reply

