August 12th – Recovering in Bethany

I was glad I practiced walking up over two flights of stairs on my last day in the hospital.  It gave me confidence that it would not be a problem when I got home.  We have a lot of stairs at home and I was really ecstatic that stairs were not a problem for me.  I do hold onto the railing and I   am not speedy!!!
I started walking outside the day after I arrived home as per Dr. Fedorenko’s suggestion.  I walked slowly, but walked for a half hour in my neighborhood and my legs did not complain.  Before HSCT, I had not gone for a walk for over 4 years.  I walked where I had to walk.  After 10 minutes, my legs would get heavy and I would get fatigued.  This was a major change that was obvious to my family and close friends. Rehab won’t start until I’m home for a month, so any improvements that are noticeable now are pretty exciting for me.IMG_5915

 

IMG_5921

These photos were actually taken the 2nd day I was walking.  I decided after my walk that I would peek at the beach.  I was not ready to walk on the sand yet.  This is the view from the top of the walkway to the beach. I was happy just to see the water!

IMG_5926

It was a windy day, & my hat looked very silly.
But, I was lucky to see my neighbors, Karen, Miles and Mallory heading home from the beach!

IMG_5929

IMG_5932

My son, Jonathan, knew I really enjoy the beach and sitting in a circle with my friends and neighbors.  I call it a circle of love.
He made me a ‘beach wheelchair’ from old riding lawn mower parts and added a seat from a car.  I was expecting PVC pipes, not heavy steel.  Jonathan has a creative mechanical 
engineering  mind and added things he thought were important.  The cooler had it’s own spot and could be used to elevate my legs and of course, carry beer : )

IMG_5941

Jonathan surprised me with his visit and with his beach wheelchair.  It was not at all what I was expecting!

IMG_5947

I was pushed, by Adam (on the left) and pulled by Jonathan (on the right) through the sand and although I held on really tight, I loved it!

IMG_5962

Sari, Jonathan’s girlfriend visited me 3x during the first two weeks I was back from Moscow.  Once she came with Jonathan, and twice she came by herself. She is always incredibly helpful when she comes and she knows  I appreciate all her efforts!!! 

IMG_6008

I was expecting to have great difficulty walking on the sand.  I thought I would need a strong man on both sides of me.
I was so surprised that I was able to walk better on the sand than last year.   I still need an arm  for balance, but my feet are able to lift higher and clear the sand much easier.  I am not sure if my walking will regress if I get extremely fatigued.  But for now, I do not need the festive beach wheelchair!

IMG_6011

Adam and I were heading out to my next door neighbor’s for dinner and the Boarman/Priesters + Lucy were passing by.
I’m always so happy to see Katie, Lucy, Anne, Jane and Charlie!

IMG_5933

 An unexpected visit from Tom, Scott and Kamran, who rode their bicycles to come and see me : )

IMG_5939

Michele and Susan took my daily walk with me and were impressed with the bottle tree.  We have great soil for growing bottles in Bethany : )

IMG_5989

IMG_5991

A quick photo before they all headed back home to Maryland.

IMG_5995

Another surprise visit!  Eva said she would stop by, but did not mention she was bringing Annie, Niki and Sue!

IMG_6029
I am so glad that I chose beautiful Bethany Beach for my place to recover and heal.
I love all my beach neighbors and my visitors!!!  Let me know if you are in the area, I’d love to see you : )

13 Comments on “August 12th – Recovering in Bethany”

  1. Susan S says:

    So happy for your progress Nancy! The beach “rod” is amazing!! Your sons certainly are very thoughtful, loving men!! How blessed you are!! Can’t tell you how much I enjoy your updates! So inspiring!!

    Like

    • Thank you Susan! I appreciate all your encouragement. I’m happy for my progress so far. I am very thankful that my family and friends have been so supportive.
      This would not be easy to do all by myself!

      Like

  2. Pete McBride says:

    Back at the beach!! Glad to hear you’re doing well, Nancy…Best of luck on the rehab.

    Like

  3. Barbara Gewirtz says:

    It is so evident that the beach wheelchair was constructed with great love. I think the best part is the step up to get on it. I think Jonathan may have a leg up on the currently available durable medical equipment! Quite the way to ride, with one son pushing you and the other pulling you! It reminds me of a throwback to pulling them in a little red wagon….

    Like

  4. Janine Gates Brown says:

    You GO, Nancy!!! So happy for you!!👍😊

    >

    Like

  5. I love the beach wheelchair, does it have a blender too?!

    Like

  6. Slowest street walker EVER : )

    Like

    • Barbara Gewirtz says:

      Slow going is okay. You’re getting out there each and every day and brightening the lives of the neighbors who see you on a path to better health….

      Like

  7. Karen Newcomer says:

    Love seeing you walking the streets of Tower Shores!

    Like


Leave a Reply

